Between a laugh and a tear

balance

‘I know there is a balance, I see it when I swing past…between a laugh and a tear’

Sometimes it feels like there is no balance in my life. I know many artists (and people) who struggle with these same feelings. Life keeps us running non stop just trying to keep up. When we do finally stop, we are sometimes bombarded with feelings of doubt. As an artist, I am constantly trying to find that balance in my life, the balance between work and my passion, art. Torn between supporting and caring for my family and caring for myself. We tend to spend so much energy taking care of others, we often forget to show ourselves some love. I recently took a part time job as a painting instructor. Although, I wasn’t sure if I was qualified to teach, I felt sure I could at least share my knowledge and passion for art. This job has become my therapy. I call it canvas therapy. For a few hours a week, I am forced to stop, slow down and embrace my passion as I share it with others. The results are amazing and instant. Why is it so much easier to allow myself to take the time to create only when I am forced to? Our sense of responsibility often lies to us, telling us we should not waste our time indulging in the things that bring us joy.

Nothing could be further from the truth. We need to practice self care. We need to indulge in the things that make us happy, as opposed to the things others tell us should make us happy. Find the magic in your life and let it cast its spell over you. You will find you are more inspired, more motivated and when it comes time to sleep, you will sleep easy, knowing you fought your own battles and worked for your own dreams. If you are not working towards making your dreams coming true, you are working to make someone else’s dream come true. This is not necessarily a bad thing, but why not do both? Life is full of magical moments, if only you are open to them.

So, go be magical…paint, draw, sculpt, sing and dance, do whatever it is that sets your soul on fire and don’t let anyone tell you you should be or do anything else.

This is your life, create it! Find that balance, and if you can’t find the balance at least enjoy the swing and wave at it as you pass by.

 

Leave a Reply

