Dreams and fear

“The fear of suffering is worse than the suffering itself. And no heart has ever suffered when it goes in search of its dream.” Paulo Coelho ~ The Alchemist

The very heart of this quote encourages one to go in search of their dreams without fear. As many artists do, I spend my time facing fears and self doubt, determined to pursue my dreams despite the odds. Despite the bumps and bruises along the way. Once again, facing rejection and failure for the love of my work. Some days are harder than others and the fear moves in to take advantage. It is these days when I try the hardest. The days when I have no desire to create anything, and past experience tells me it is all in vain anyway, so why bother. I don’t think this is unique to me. I think most people experience the very same doubts and fears. We have a choice and day after day we make the choice to persevere. The book I am working on now highlights that struggle to keep fighting despite overwhelming odds. It is a story of hardship, unfair circumstances and cruelty. But mostly it is a story of the unbeatable human spirit and of a child’s ability to keep their dreams alive and safe within themselves, never completely giving in to the darkness. As I have learned from the characters of my story, we must persist despite the odds. We must laugh. We must be kind, despite the unfairness, we must be true to ourselves and we must keep the fire burning within ourselves. At times it may be only a spark, but a spark is all it takes to start a fire!

watercolordancer

Nez Perce child powwow dancing

Leave a Reply

